

LIGHT RAILWAY RESEARCH SOCIETY OF AUSTRALIA INC.

Incorporated Association A14384U

ABN 27859154705

MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Held On:	Thursday, 8th August, 2019 AD.		
Venue:	Ashburton Uniting Church Hall, Ashburn Grove, Ashburton, Victoria		
Commenced:	8:23pm	Chairman:	William L. (Bill) Hanks (President)
Present:	19 members	Apologies:	Rod Smith, John Dennis, Andrew Hennell.
Minutes of Previous Meeting: Minutes of the 2018 AGM were read by the Hon Secretary, Phil Rickard. Moved by P.Rickard, Seconded by P.Evans, that the Minutes be accepted; Carried.			
Treasurer's Report:	The Hon Treasurer, Colin Harvey presented the Treasurer's Report for the Year Ended 30 June 2019, including Statement of Income and Expenditure, Statement of Assets and Liabilities and Statement of Cash Flows. It was Moved by C.Harvey, Seconded by S.Moorhead that the said report be accepted. Carried.		
JLN Southern Award:	The Sixth annual awarding of the J L N Southern Award, to recognise the best article published in <i>Light Railways</i> each year, took place. The judging panel, composed of Dr Ruth Kerr, Roderick Smith and David Whiteford declared the winner of the award for the calendar year 2018 to be Mike McCarthy for his fascinating two-part article on the original construction of the Torrumbarry Weir in the 1920s, its workforce, tramways and locomotives. Mike, expressing surprise, gave a short speech of thanks.		
President's Report:	Bill Hanks presented his 29th Presidential Report. The main points being: Membership numbers of 663 were slightly down on previous year's 677, highlighting difficult financial times, changing interests and an ageing membership. Conversely, <i>Light Railways</i> magazine continues to be well supported, article- and news-wise and is selling well at the newsagents. Bill paid tribute to the many people who keep the society going. During the year , Chief Editor Richard Warwick has been ably assisted by Frank Stamford and Mike McCarthy; Peter Evans looked after Field Reports, Stuart Thyer supervised the Research section, Andrew Webster looked after Heritage and Tourism and Chris Hart was in charge of Industrial Railway News. All have put in another good year's work. The electronic pdf LR magazine is proving successful with both Overseas and Australian members– our thanks to John Dennis for his untiring work in this direction. LR printing costs are stable in a very competitive market which has help allow the subscription rate to stay unchanged again, for the 13th year. However, postage costs continue to be a worry – they have just risen again. In the Online world we have an e-mail discussion group at Groups IO, though the recently opened Facebook page is now attracting more interest, quickly growing to over 1200 members. A recent half-price campaign to recruit some of those electronic adherents to actual membership was not very successful. On the Victorian Tour's front Simon Moorhead continues to find interesting places for us to visit – in November we went to the Stawell district and visited a number of interesting sites and the museum. The interstate groups in NSW, Qld and SA continue to be well supported. Sales Dept ; John Dennis has ably run the Sales Dept, with storage and despatch being done by Bill Hanks, though it has been a quiet year. A pleasing event during the year was the awarding of an OAM to the society's founder Frank Stamford. Bill finished with a timely observation that the society's future		

"Perhaps the great interest in railway history in general and light railways in particular has past its zenith."

A **full copy of the President's** timely and illuminating report and the Treasurer's report will be available for viewing or downloading through the society's website in due course. **It was moved** by M.McCarthy, Seconded by D.Mickle, that the President's report be accepted. Carried.

- Election of Office Bearers: The President declared all positions vacant and, in his capacity as an Ordinary member, duly advised that there was only one nomination for the position of President and declared W.L. (Bill) Hanks re-elected for another term. Bill re-assumed the position of chairman and read out the nominations for Council positions – Vice-president: Michael McCarthy; Secretary: Phil Rickard; Treasurer: Colin Harvey. As their was only one nomination for each of the three mentioned positions, all were duly declared elected. Committee Persons, nominations: John Dennis, Peter Evans, Richard Warwick, Frank Stamford OAM. As the number of nominations – four – did not exceed the number of vacant committee-person positions – five – the Chairman declared all nominees elected. There is still one vacancy on council.
- **General Business:** The Chairman called for any General Business and received no response from the floor. The Chairman called for any Other Matters arising from the AGM and again received no response.
- Meeting Closure :At 8:47pm, there being no other business to be transacted, the Chairman (the President, W L
Hanks, declared the meeting closed. The Bi-Monthly Entertainment Meeting then
commenced.